Posted in Extracurricular, Written by Ellie

My Summer Reads

The academic year is over! This summer has come around so fast, where has the time gone?! However, with no impending deadlines and no course reading to do I am free to read for pleasure once again… and i cannot wait!

So, here are all the books that i cannot wait to read over the next few months and why:

The Circle, Dave Eggers. Image result for the circle dave eggers

Okay, so I have actually already begun reading this novel and I am loving it! Initially, I saw that there was a film coming out called ‘the Circle’ that i thought looked really interesting and was looking forward to the watch. When I learnt that this was based off a book, however, I was desperate to read it, because we all know that the book is always better than the film!

The story is set in an ambiguous near-future, where technology is slightly more advanced than it is today, and social media is at the center of young people’s lives – more so than it is today. Mae, the protagonist, begins working at a huge corporation called The Circle, and although this is deemed the greatest company in the world, things are not all what they seem…

I am so excited to finish this book and then watch the film. The plot seems eerily possible when you consider the directions that technology and social media are heading in at present.

 

The Essex Serpent, Sara Perry

Image result for the essex serpent

Well, I know very little of this book, only that it won The Waterstones book of 2016 and that it is set in 1890’s London.

I bought this book after two women in the shop both came up to me imploring me to read it  as I was having a nosy through it. I felt that their passion about the book spoke highly enough for it and i couldn’t resist buying it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Great Expectations, Charles Dickens

Image result for great expectations novel

This read is half for pleasure, and half for studies, but I am going to re-read this fantastic novel because I shall be studying it in September.

I read this book a few years ago, and although parts of it are long and challenging, it is such a worthwhile book to read. The story follows the life of a young boy, who although born into poverty, is left a large fortune by a mystery benefactor. This is a story of coming of age, and tackling the struggles of Victorian high society

 

 

 

 

How to Stop Time, Matt Haig

Image result for how to stop time

I am SO excited to read this book. Matt Haig is a writer who I have loved for a long time now, I found his book The Humans, by complete chance, but i believe that everyone should read it in their lifetime; it gives such an interesting perspective on humanity that really makes you think. Haig has also written many other pieces, one being Reasons to Stay Alive, a memoir that is intended to provide people with mental health struggles, or anyone else, a list (for lack of a better word) of Reasons to stay alive.

How to Stop Time is out in July, and I intend on buying it on the day of it’s release. From what I can gather from the blurb, this book is about an immortal history teacher, who has lived through centuries, changing his identity to stay alive, and living by one rule: to not fall in love.

I am beyond excited to read this book, because I know that Matt Haig is a fantastic writer, who approaches the struggles of life so accurately.

 

The Picture of Dorian Gray, Oscar Wilde

Image result for the picture of dorian gray book cover

This is another 50/50 pleasure/study book. I have studied parts of Wilde’s plays before, but none of his novels, and I cannot wait to read Dorian Gray.

Having seen the film I know what how the novel pans out – a young man sells his soul to the devil in return for his mortality – but I am excited to come to terms with Wilde’s style of novel writing. Also I’m sure the film missed out some gory details, so I am looking forward to learning the full story within The Picture of Dorian Gray.

So this is my summer reading list. I hope you all find time to do some reading for pleasure in the sunshine, and enjoy everything you read!

Author:

We are 301 Student Skills and Development Centre and we give academic skills advice to our students at the University of Sheffield. We offer workshops and 1:1 appointments.

Leave a Reply

