Posted in Written by Sophie

A few tips for applications and interviews over the summer!

Image result for job gif friends

Hi everyone!  I’m Sophie, one of the new interns at 301.  I’ve just finished my undergraduate degree in English Language and Linguistics and will be studying a Masters next year.  Looking forward to meeting some of your next year at 301!

I thought I would write a post on applications and interviews for those of you who are job-hunting over the summer holidays.  I was looking for work over the summer too, and was incredibly anxious as I needed to save up money for the next academic year.  Hopefully these tips will help you concentrate on finding work, and will make your search slightly easier.

  1. It is better to apply for fewer jobs and put effort into them!

In the past, I often didn’t take care over my applications, often repeating some of the things I had previously written in other applications.  This time, I found that taking the time to find jobs online that suited me meant that I was much more successful in being called to interview.  I took the time to read through each job description carefully, and went through the criteria to check I met each one.  Just because a job is in a sector that you have worked in before doesn’t mean that it is right for you! Be very critical of the job postings you apply for, as you do not want to ruin your time-off with a job that you don’t like.

  1. Meet every job requirement.

Even if it is briefly, make sure you meet the job description/person requirements in either the application or interview.  For instance, one of the requirements may be “has a keen eye for fashion” (if you’re applying for a retail position!).  I have never had a permanent job in retail, but I did help with the sales stock at Next one time.  So, I made sure to mention my ability to position stock in a way that was appealing to customers, which shows my interest in the latest trends (etc.).  Turning seemingly small experiences into significant ones is something that helped me during my job hunt!

  1. Ask someone to check through your application.

You have probably heard lots of times throughout your degree that another pair of eyes will help you spot mistakes/typos in your work.  The same goes for job applications – employers may become disinterested if they see a grammar error or something misspelt.  The person checking may also be able to see if your wonderful personality shines through the application, or whether you should change the style of your writing.

  1. Remember to breathe before your interview.

No matter how many I’ve done, I’m always nervous before an interview.  I always try to remember that the interviewer is human and that they’re not there to trick you (if they are, maybe you shouldn’t work for them).  Pretend you’re going to have a conversation about your hobbies, personality and skills with your friend; even though it will be someone you’ve never met before.  And remember to take some deep breaths before entering the room – at the end of the day, you can always try again or apply somewhere else.

  1. If you don’t get the job, don’t worry!

Being rejected the first, second, or fortieth time is not a reflection of who you are as a person.  After all, you’re being questioned on one occasion, and the person has never met you before.  If you couldn’t get across what you wanted to say the first time, just remember to say it next time!  Being rejected from a job is not the end of the world, as there are much more important things.

 

I hope this post helped at least some of you remain calm during your job hunt!  Everything will work out in the end.

Author:

We are 301 Student Skills and Development Centre and we give academic skills advice to our students at the University of Sheffield. We offer workshops and 1:1 appointments.

Leave a Reply

