Posted in Intern advice, Written by Kim

Why sign up for the Academic Skills Certificate? Part 2

I was pondering on what to write for my next blog post, so I asked Maddie for inspiration. She made sprinkle hand motions above my head and said, “Inspiration.” Then, she suggested I make a part 2 of her blog, ‘Why sign up for the Academic Skills Certificate?’, and here it is.

giphy (41).gif

  1. You get to practice self-reflection.

In order to obtain the Academic Skills Certificate, you will be asked to write a 2500 word reflection piece on the workshops and your academic skills development. It’s a great skills to develop because it helps you understand your strengths and weaknesses, and where you could improve on. This skill is not only beneficial for academic development, but also  career and personal development. Competency-based interviews are common and self-reflection can help you formulate answers.

giphy (42).gif

  1. It’s free.

Not going to lie, I applied for many of these certificates and courses because it was free. During my 4 years in Sheffield, I have obtained the Skills for Work Certificate, Academic Skills Certificate, Code First: Girls’ Python Course Completion Certificate and Sheffield Graduate Award. Listing these achievements in your CV can make you stand out and more employable.

giphy (43)

  1. It might land you a job.

The 301 was looking for interns to hire for the 16/17 academic year, and I really needed a part-time job. Due to the fact that I had already obtained the Academic Skills Certificate, I had the experience of attending the workshops, understood the certificate application process, and knew about the services they offered. I can’t say for sure that this was the exact reason for getting hired, but I think it helped! It’s been about 8 months since I started as an intern and I’m so grateful for being able to work here. 

giphy (44)

 

So, what are you waiting for? Sign up for the Academic Skills Certificate here: http://www.sheffield.ac.uk/ssid/301/asc

Author:

We are 301 Student Skills and Development Centre and we give academic skills advice to our students at the University of Sheffield. We offer workshops and 1:1 appointments.

Leave a Reply

