From Evidence to Argument Workshop

doggo

I recently attended my first workshop of the year – ‘From Evidence to Argument’. Despite working at 301 I have only attended one workshop previously but it was this positive experience which led me to apply for the intern role here!

The From Evidence to Argument Workshop is ran jointly by 301 and the library which works really well as the staff have different perspectives and can offer advice on different areas.

The first section of the workshop covered finding evidence and different types of sources. This included how to start researching for a piece of work and also considering bias in different sources.

The second half of the workshop taught us how to structure a successful argument, including the use of evidence. This is a really useful skill for essays as well as for the discussion section of scientific reports.

In order to practice the skills we had been taught, we used ‘Brexit’ as an example. This led to some really cool conversations with other members of the group, particularly as we had people from many nationalities so we had a range of interesting viewpoints!

For me, the most useful part of the workshop was the argument structure. I have lots of deadlines coming up including my research project write up so there will be plenty of opportunities to practice what I have learnt!

Leave a comment