Posted in All things 301, Taste of work

Taste of Work Programme

I’m Chris and I came to 301 to do a few hours of work experience through the Taste of Work programme. I am currently in my second year studying Mechatronics. (If you don’t know what that is it’s basically transformers and stuff…!)

Image result for optimus prime

I had a great time at the 301 Skills Centre and all the staff were very friendly and helpful! I shadowed the busy 301 enquiry desk and watched how the staff respond to queries in person, over the phone and by email. I also had the opportunity to register students attending a workshop.

I learnt about all the various services that the 301 Skills Centre provide. These range from Maths and Statistics Help (MASH) to academic skills workshops such as critical thinking and presentation skills. I will definitely be making use of some of these over the next couple of years!

The Taste of Work Programme is run by the University’s Careers Service. As a 2nd year Engineering student, work experience is very important for me to help obtain an industrial summer placement. I would recommend Taste of Work to anyone who needs some experience as it’s a great opportunity to meet new people and give your CV an extra boost!

Author:

We are 301 Student Skills and Development Centre and we give academic skills advice to our students at the University of Sheffield. We offer workshops and 1:1 appointments.

Leave a Reply

