Posted in Intern advice

Eats, shoots and leaves

gr

I recently attended the proofreading workshop run by my fellow colleagues at 301. I was eager to find out more about proofreading as my dissertation deadline is getting closer and it’s a crucial time for me to go over what I’ve written and fine tune my work. The workshop includes lots of different aspects of proofreading including; checking the structure of your work, checking the internal paragraphs as well as grammar, punctuation, spelling and much more.

I really learnt how important it is to proofread and how common it is to just see what you want to be on the page, even if it isn’t! We were also reminded of the importance of punctuation for conveying what you mean. My favourite example of this is from a well-known book on punctuation:

Eats shoots and leaves / Eats, Shoots and Leaves

Another problem I often struggle with is writing in very long sentences and then struggling to cut them down. One of the exercises in the workshop really taught me how to do this properly, through introducing different types of punctuation. I also learnt about different techniques you can use for proofreading such as reading out loud, printing your work and even reading backwards! The workshop provided me with a very detailed list of things to check! It was also a rare opportunity for me to really put my grammar skills to the test, something which I haven’t had to do since being at school. This workshop really does give you the tools needed to review your work in depth and enables you to feel more confident about a piece of work.

Ali

Author:

We are 301 Student Skills and Development Centre and we give academic skills advice to our students at the University of Sheffield. We offer workshops and 1:1 appointments.

Leave a Reply

